Env skypaint

From Valve Developer Community
Jump to: navigation, search


Env skypaint.png

env_skypaint is a point entity available in <Garry's Mod>Garry's Mod (Since GMod 13). It allows to create custom dynamic skybox (Both HDR and LDR).

gm_construct uses env_skypaint
gm_flatgrass also uses env_skypaint

It can be overridden by Sky Editor (edit_sky) entity spawned by player in game.


Note.png Note: Set skybox name to painted to get this entity to work.
Note.png Note: The colors aren't in RGB "255 255 255" format. In order to convert them to these values, you'll need to get your color value (such as 200 and divide it like 255/200, resulting in 0.78 rounded for the red color field)
Note.png Note: Since env_skypaint isn't related to VRAD at all, you'll need to make your own light_environment for your skybox inside Hammer.

Sky creation

  1. Place env_skypaint somewhere in your map
  2. Change sky name to painted
  3. Compile and run map
  4. Using a Q menu, spawn the Sky Editor somewhere in your map.
  5. Go to sky editor properties and edit the values as you wish.
  6. When your done, just copy values to env_skypaint
  7. Compile map again. DONE

env_skypaint example values

Map Sky Top Color Sky Bottom Color Sky Fade Bias Sun Size Sun Normal Sun Position Method Sun Color Dusk Scale Dusk Intensity Dusk Color Draw Stars Star Texture Star Scale Star Fade Star Speed HDR Scale
gm_construct 0.22 0.51 1 0.919 0.929 0.992 0.1 0 0 0 1 Automatic 0 0 0 0.5 2 1 1 1 Yes skybox/clouds 2 0.5 0.03 0.56
gm_flatgrass 0 0.6 1 0.9 0.95 1 0.5 0 0 0 1 Automatic 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 Yes skybox/clouds 2 0.5 0.02 0.60

Keyvalues

Name <targetname>
Entity's name
Sky Top Color <topcolor>
Sky top color
Sky Bottom Color <bottomcolor>
Sky horizon color
Sky Fade Bias <fadebias>
Tansision between sky colors (1.0 is even)
Sun Size <sunsize>
Size of sun glow overlay on sky.
Warning.png Warning: not to be confused with env_sun
Sun Normal <sunnormal>
Sun Position Method <sunsize>
Custom or Automatic(Uses env_sun values)
Sun Color <suncolor>
Color of the sun overlay.
Dusk Scale <duskscale>
Size of dusk at horizon.
Dusk Intensity <duskintensity>
How powerful the dusk effect is.
Dusk Color <duskcolor>
Color of the dusk.
Draw Stars <drawstars>
YesorNo. Draws a specified texture as overlay.
Note.png Note: On sky it replaces black color in texture with alpha.
Stars Texture <starstexture>
Default: skybox/starfield
Stars Scale <starsscale>
Scale of overlay texture.
Star Fade <starsfade>
Fade the star texture towards the horizon.
Stars Speed <starsspeed>
How fast the star texture should scroll across the sky.
HDR Scale <hdrscale>
When rendering your skybox in HDR mode, output will be scaled by this amount.

Input

Kill
Removes this entity from the world.
KillHierarchy
Removes this entity and its children from the world.
Note.png Note: Entities already remove orphaned children upon being removed, but this input removes all children on the same frame, being marginally faster than Kill.
AddOutput <string>
Adds a keyvalue/output to this entity. It can be potentially very dangerous, use with care.
KV Format: <key> <value>
I/O Format: <output name> <targetname>:<inputname>:<parameter>:<delay>:<max times to fire, -1 means infinite>

Output

OnUser1 to OnUser4
These outputs each fire in response to the firing of the like-numbered FireUser1 to FireUser4 Input; see User Inputs and Outputs.