Template:KV BaseNPC

From Valve Developer Community
Jump to: navigation, search

BaseNPC:

Relationship <string> !FGD
<string|targetname or classname> <string|disposition> <int|rank>

Changes whether this NPC likes or dislikes certain others. Used like the ai_relationship entity, with this NPC as the subject. This keyvalue is not included in Valve's FGDs.

Values for disposition are:
  • D_HT: Hate
  • D_FR: Fear
  • D_LI: Like
  • D_NU: Neutral
Target Path Corner (target) <targetname>
The path_corner that this NPC will move to after spawning.
Squad Name (squadname) <string>
NPCs that are in the same squad (i.e. have matching squad names) will share information about enemies, and will take turns attacking and covering each other.
Hint Group (hintgroup) <string>
Hint groups are used by NPCs to restrict their hint-node searching to a subset of the map's hint nodes. Only hint nodes with matching hint group names will be considered by this NPC.
Hint Limit Nav (hintlimiting) <boolean>
Limits NPC to using specified hint group for navigation requests, but does not limit local navigation.
Sleep State (sleepstate) <choices>
Holds the NPC in stasis until specified condition. See also 'Wake Radius' and 'Wake Squad'.
  • 0: None
  • 1: Waiting for threat
  • 2: Waiting for PVS
  • 3: Waiting for input, ignore PVS
  • 4: Auto PVS
  • 5: Auto PVS after PVS
Wake Radius (wakeradius) <float>
Auto-wake if player within this distance
Wake Squad (wakesquad) <boolean>
Wake all of the NPCs squadmates if the NPC is woken
Enemy Filter (enemyfilter) <targetname>
Filter entity to test targets against
Ignore unseen enemies (ignoreunseenenemies) <boolean>
Prefer visible enemies, regardless of distance or relationship priority
Physics Impact Damage Scale (physdamagescale) <float>
Scales damage energy when this character is hit by a physics object. With a value of 0 the NPC will take no damage from physics.

DamageFilter:

Damage Filter (damagefilter) <targetname>
Name of the filter_damage_type entity that controls which entities can damage us.

ResponseContext:

Response Contexts (ResponseContext) <string>
Pre-defined response system context{s} for this entity. Format is key:value,key:value,... When this entity speaks, the list of keys & values will be passed to the response rules system.

Shadow:

Disable shadows (disableshadows) <boolean>
Prevent the entity from creating cheap render-to-texture shadows. Does not affect shadow mapping.
Disable ShadowDepth (disableshadowdepth) <boolean> (New with Portal 2)
Used to disable rendering into shadow depth (for projected textures) for this entity.
Projected Texture Cache (shadowdepthnocache) <choices> (New with Portal 2)
Used to hint projected texture system whether it is sufficient to cache shadow volume of this entity or to force render it every frame instead.
  • 0 : Default
  • 1 : No cache - render every frame
  • 2 : Cache it - render only once
Disable flashlight (disableflashlight) <boolean> (New with Portal 2)
Used to disable projected texture lighting and shadows on this entity.

RenderFields:

Render Mode (rendermode) <choices>
Set a non-standard rendering mode on this entity.
Render FX / Transparency (0 - 255) (renderamt) <integer>
Transparency amount, requires a Render Mode other than Normal. 0 is invisible, 255 is fully visible.
Render Color (R G B) (rendercolor) <color255>
Color tint.
Disable Receiving Shadows (disablereceiveshadows) <boolean>
Prevent the entity from receiving shadows on itself.

RenderFXChoices:

Render FX (renderfx) <choices>
Preset pattern of appearance effects.
To do: 18-21, 25

Angles:

Pitch Yaw Roll (Y Z X) <angle>
This entity's orientation in the world. Pitch is rotation around the Y axis, yaw is the rotation around the Z axis, roll is the rotation around the X axis.

Targetname:

Name <string>
The targetname that other entities refer to this entity by.
Entity Scripts <scriptlist> (New with Left 4 Dead 2)
Space delimited list of VScript files (without file extension) that are executed after all entities have spawned. The scripts are all executed in the same script scope, later ones overwriting any identical variables and functions.
Script think function <string> (New with Left 4 Dead 2)
Name of a function in this entity's script which will be called automatically every 100 milliseconds (ten times a second) for the duration of the script. It can be used to create timers or to simulate autonomous behavior. The return value (if present) will set the time until the next call.
Note:Try to avoid expensive operations in this function, as it may cause performance problems.

GMODSandbox:

Allow Physics Gun (gmod_allowphysgun) <boolean> (Only in Garry's Mod)
If set, players cannot use Physics Gun on this entity.
Sandbox Tool Whitelist (gmod_allowtools) <string> (Only in Garry's Mod)
If set, only given tools can be used on this entity. You need to supply the tool class names, the names of the .lua files of those tools. This also includes the context menu properties!