Difference between revisions of "Template:Purge/doc"

From Valve Developer Community
Jump to: navigation, search
(Documentation subpage for Template:Purge)
 
(Documentation ported from Wikipedia)
 
Line 1: Line 1:
 
{{Documentation subpage}}
 
{{Documentation subpage}}
<!-- Please place categories where indicated at the bottom of this page.) -->
+
<!-- Place categories where indicated at the bottom of this page and interwikis at Wikidata (see [[Wikipedia:Wikidata]]) -->
Creates a link to purge a page's cache. For more information, see [[Wikipedia:WP:PURGE]]. Use sparingly!
+
{{Wikipedia port|documentation=1|old=567592458}}
 +
{{tlx|Purge}} produces a link that will [[WP:WP:PURGE|purge the page's cache]] and rebuild it from the wikitext.
 +
 
 +
==Purpose==
 +
For efficiency in service, MediaWiki [[Wikipedia:Cache (computing)|cache]]s pages. Depending on the exact sequence of actions editors follow, one may view an out-of-date version of a given page. This happens most often on heavily-edited pages and on pages which contain an instance of transclusion.
 +
 
 +
{{tlx|Purge}} adds to any page a link that, when clicked, not only reloads the page, but [[WP:WP:PURGE|clears the server cache]], forcing the page to be completely rendered "from scratch". This is not a one-time solution; generally, editing a page is itself sufficient to purge cache. Rather, it is a measure taken in anticipation of the frequent need to purge.
 +
 
 +
==Examples==
 +
{| class="wikitable"
 +
|-
 +
! Code
 +
! Yields
 +
! Result
 +
|-
 +
| {{tlx|Purge}}
 +
| {{Purge}}
 +
| Creates a purge link for the page it is used on.
 +
|-
 +
| {{tlx|Purge|Purge this page's server cache.}}
 +
| {{Purge|Purge this page's server cache.}}
 +
| Creates a purge link for the page it is used on, but with the text "Purge this page's server cache."
 +
|-
 +
| {{tlx|Purge|page{{=}}Main Page}}
 +
| {{Purge|page=Main Page}}
 +
| Creates a purge link for [[Main Page]].
 +
|-
 +
| {{tlx|Purge|Purge this page's server cache.|page{{=}}Main Page}}
 +
| {{Purge|Purge this page's server cache.|page=Main Page}}
 +
| Creates a purge link for [[Main Page]], but with the text "Purge this page's server cache."
 +
|-
 +
| {{tlx|Purge|anchor{{=}}TemplateData}}
 +
| {{Purge|anchor=TemplateData}}
 +
| Creates a purge link for the page it is used on, which points to the "TemplateData" section.
 +
|}
 +
 
 +
When you are linking to a section, purging that page will cause you to lose the section link.
  
 
<includeonly>{{sandbox other||
 
<includeonly>{{sandbox other||
<!-- Categories below this line, please -->
+
|<!-- ADD CATEGORIES BELOW THIS LINE -->
 
+
[[Category:Utility templates]]
 +
[[Category:Internal link templates]]
 
}}</includeonly>
 
}}</includeonly>

Latest revision as of 17:09, 25 February 2020

{{Purge}} produces a link that will purge the page's cache and rebuild it from the wikitext.

Purpose

For efficiency in service, MediaWiki caches pages. Depending on the exact sequence of actions editors follow, one may view an out-of-date version of a given page. This happens most often on heavily-edited pages and on pages which contain an instance of transclusion.

{{Purge}} adds to any page a link that, when clicked, not only reloads the page, but clears the server cache, forcing the page to be completely rendered "from scratch". This is not a one-time solution; generally, editing a page is itself sufficient to purge cache. Rather, it is a measure taken in anticipation of the frequent need to purge.

Examples

Code Yields Result
{{Purge}} Purge Creates a purge link for the page it is used on.
{{Purge|Purge this page's server cache.}} Purge this page's server cache. Creates a purge link for the page it is used on, but with the text "Purge this page's server cache."
{{Purge|page=Main Page}} Purge Creates a purge link for Main Page.
{{Purge|Purge this page's server cache.|page=Main Page}} Purge this page's server cache. Creates a purge link for Main Page, but with the text "Purge this page's server cache."
{{Purge|anchor=TemplateData}} Purge Creates a purge link for the page it is used on, which points to the "TemplateData" section.

When you are linking to a section, purging that page will cause you to lose the section link.